Manly Village Public School

Respect Integrity Excellence

Telephone02 9977 3066

Learning at our school

Key Learning Areas

The NSW Education Standards Authority (NESA) is responsible for the curriculum, Kindergarten to Year 12, for all NSW schools.

For the primary years, NESA develops syllabuses for all subjects in 6 key learning areas:

  • creative arts
  • English
  • human society and its environment (HSIE)
  • mathematics
  • personal development, health and physical education (PDHPE)
  • science and technology.

Some primary schools may also offer languages.

NSW schools also offer special religious education and special education in ethics via approved providers, where available.

Like all NSW schools, we have developed teaching and learning programs to suit our local context and the needs of our students.

To learn more about curriculum in NSW, visit:

The NSW Education  Standards Authority recommends spending the following time on teaching each of the K–6 KLAs. As a guide, 6%-10% is approximately 1.5 to 2.5 hours in a typical teaching week.

The 'additional activities' might include scripture, school sport or debating. You may also use this time to expand on work being done with the core curriculum.As a guide, 6%-10% is approximately 1.5 to 2.5 hours in a typical teaching week.

Teachers have flexibility to use these guidelines in accordance with the policies of their school system or authority.

Stages of learning

There are 6 stages of learning from Kindergarten to Year 12. Primary school covers Early Stage 1, or Kindergarten, to the end of Stage 3. Click on the stages below for Stage Statements across all Key Learning Areas.

  • Stage 1 includes Kindergarten to Year 2 (Kindergarten is referred to as Early Stage 1).
  • Stage 2 includes Years 3 and 4.
  • Stage 3 includes Years 5 and 6.

Related content